Apply for IMFAR Travel Grant

The Autism Science Foundation will be accepting applications for 2018 IMFAR Travel Grants starting February 1, 2018.

Each year ASF accepts applications for travel grants to send a limited number of parents of children with autism, individuals with autism, special education teachers and other stakeholders to attend the International Meeting for Autism Research (IMFAR). The 2018 conference will be held in Rotterdam, Zuid Holland, Netherlands from May 9-12.

Grant recipients receive up to $1,000, which is applied to expenses including registration, travel, accommodations and meals. The grant may also be applied to directly related expenses, including childcare or special accommodations to enable individuals with autism to participate. Grantees are responsible for obtaining international travel documents.

Grant Requirements:

During the conference, grantees are asked to participate in ASF-related activities at IMFAR including a group photo and social media promotion. Full details will be shared prior to the conference. Grantees must submit the original receipts for reimbursement and are expected to submit completed travel expense forms within 15 days of return from IMFAR. After attending IMFAR, grantees are asked to share what they learned with their community to further autism research. Grantees are asked to send to ASF a short write-up plus photos or a video of their activity within six months of their return from IMFAR.

Application Process:

To apply, send a letter to describing why you want to attend IMFAR and explaining how you would share what you learn there with the broader autism community. Letters should be sent as Microsoft Word attachments of no more than 2 pages, 12-point type, “Arial” font, with standard margins. In the subject line please write: IMFAR Travel Grant. Letters must be received by [TBA]. Past recipients have included individuals with autism, parents of children with autism, siblings of individuals with autism, special & regular education teachers, graduate and undergraduate students, post doctoral fellows, journalists, and others to attend and participate in the conference. Grants are awarded only to US residents over 18 years of age.

Recipients will be announced in late March.

2017 Recipients:

  • Sierra Brown
  • Karen Chenausky
  • Scott Jackson
  • Georgina Perez Liz
  • Priyanka Shah